Structures

To observe natural systems over the long-term, the INSU laboratories carry out their research within original structures – the Observatories of Sciences of the Universe (OSUs). The Institute has also created National Observation Services (SNOs) and participates primarily in national and international research infrastructures within its fields.

Original research structures

Like the other CNRS Institutes, the INSU shares the trusteeship of most of its research units with its academic partners. The originality of its organization is the grouping of its laboratories into Observatories of the sciences of the Universe which especially implement the national actions and services labelled by the Institute.

The INSU laboratories

Mixed research units

Most INSU research units are mixed research units (UMR), managed jointly by academic partners or other organizations. Within Universities, they are grouped into observatories of the sciences of the Universe (OSU) backed-up by mixed service units (UMS).

Research federations and service structures

Four research federations (FR), five UMS, and research and service units (USR) complete this organization on a national scale, especially with a role of co-ordinating the scientific strategy of several UMRs and supporting critical platforms whose perimeters transcend the local context.

International mixed units

Four international mixed units (UMI) ensure the development of long-term co-operation with foreign Universities and organizations.

The federating role of the observatories of the sciences of the Universe (OSU)

Status and Mission

The 27 OSUs are highly original territorial structures, and their main mission is "to organize the means needed to acquire observations of astronomical systems, or components of the Earth's system." Within Universityies, they have the status of an internal school or a large institution, and comprise mixed service units (UMS) that are steered in partnership by the CNRS, the University, and in several cases by other establishments or research organizations.

Interdisciplinarity and pooling of means

At the local level, in the long-term the OSUs implement national actions and observation services and favour interdisciplinary research. Especially, they simplify access to large research infrastructures and to experimental or digital platforms of regional or national interest.

List of the observatories of the sciences of the Universe (OSU)

National observation services (SNO)

Acquisition of data

Earth Sciences and Astronomy rely on the acquisition of data that describe the formation, evolution and variations in the astronomical systems and Earth environment. Thus, the INSU develops a specific strategy to answer scientific issues and associated societal challenges.

The SNOs label

The INSU creates and assesses the National observation services (SNOs) which implement observation systems and those of data acquisition over several years, or even several decades. These systems have a service vocation to the benefit of all the community and enable knowledge to progress about the formation, evolution and the variability of the systems studied.

The definition and recognition of the contents of SNOs and the quality of the observations accumulated are established following a process of labelling. This allows the implementation of the Institute's strategy, and the most efficient use possible of the resources.

National actions for observation

Since 2016, the SNOs have been grouped into "national actions for observation", in each of the large fields of research of the Institute to structure and steer this activity of systematic observation, and to bring it closer to the large national or international research infrastructures.

To find out more about the National observation services

Tools

INSU researchers can rely on national and international research infrastructures, and on data centres as well as major large-scale tools which have become indispensable to drive their research.

Research infrastructures

The INSU steers national and international research infrastructures in collaboration with its French or foreign partners. Thus, its researchers can carry out extensive research as they have access to the most powerful equipment in the highest level environments including telescopes, interferometers, synchrotrons, oceanographic vessels.

Lists of research infrastructures

Data centres and poles

The data centres and poles make data, tools, or services available, to unite or cross data that issue from different sources of production (SNOs, space missions, large field campaigns, digital modelling).

List of data centres and poles

Technical and human means

The technical deputy director of the INSU accompanies a certain number of challenges of instrumental development for the scientific programmes of the Institute. Furthermore, it identifies strategic skills to be maintained and/or developed within its laboratories.

The technical community is one that has a great deal of personality. It has members who are prepared to advance, and through this network, we can see critical and novel questions emerging, that deserve to be pursued in the future.
Pierre Kern, Deputy technical director of the INSU

Missions of the technical deputy director

To develop actions of project support, to accompany and co-ordinate R&D actions, to anticipate the technical needs of the laboratories and project teams, especially during preliminary phases of major projects, including skills and technical means, ensuring, for the INSU technical monitoring and support of projects and participation in prospective studies. These missions can be broken down as follows:

Instrumentation and animation monitoring of professions

  • To drive the qualitative and quantitative prospective evolution of technical professions especially those which are specific to instrumental and observational needs of the Institute, via training programmes (ANF) and professional networks;
  • To accompany the organization of professions through networks and dedicated training programmes;
  • To contribute to the organization of congresses and thematic schools for the INSU laboratories;

Project monitoring and support

  • To contribute at the national level to the monitoring and support of major technical projects (steering committees or monitoring and support, reviews, key points);
  • To ensure the technical monitoring and support of the space laboratories for the INSU, or those implicated in major technical projects and interfaces, with the CNES in liaison with the DS and DAS concerned, 
  • Do develop activities of project quality: methods, product insurance etc.
  • To ensure with the help of the director of the Technical Division (DT) the monitoring and support and the installation of the means for national instruments;
  • To ensure the link between laboratories and the DT, jointly with the department team, for their needs concerning development or deployment of means of observation (see the INSU technical division site);


An example of a technical project: a visit to the LAM SPATIAL technical platform during the integration of the Euclid NISP, FIREBall, and SUBARU PFS instruments.

Monitoring of the Institute prospective

  • To participate in the prospective organized by specialized commissions and by programmes;
  • To co-ordinate the R&D at the INSU and ensure the monitoring of resources that are affected to this;

Monitoring of national infrastructures 

  • To ensure the technical monitoring and support of national infrastructures;
  • To accompany the co-ordination of support for major campaigns of measurements;
  • To ensure the monitoring and support of calls to tender that are instrumental for the support of national means.

Click on the link to visit the site of the Technical Division of the INSU (in French).

Actions and projects

Networks of professions
Networks of professions which help the INSU to support instrumental development and means of observation.

  • MAPI (in French) MAnagement of the INSU Project
  • Project quality 
  • Network of Lithopreparators (in French)
  • SIST (in French) - the technological network of computer scientists and observational data managers
  • TechMar - the network of Marine Technologies
  • MSK (in French) - the "Underground and Karsts media" professional network
  • Docplanets (in French) - the network of professionals of the Scientific and Technical Information of the INSU
Exemple d'ANF 2018 du réseau SIST : Gestion des données d'observation, les outils informatiques pour la valorisation
Example of the 2018 ANF of the SIST network. Management of observation data, and computing tools for development.

National Training Action Initiatives
These National Training Action Initiatives help Engineers, Technicians, and Instrumentalist Researchers acquire or complete the skills needed to carry out their missions.

Apart from the training courses proposed by the professional networks of the CNRS managed via MITI, the INSU proposes training specific to its needs. Depending on the case, these training courses are proposed every year or every two years, for more specific, occasional requirements or on an ad hoc basis. These training sessions may be proposed jointly with other Institutes, especially the IN2P3 or INEE. Our current training activities are the following:

  • Training sessions planned for 2019:
    • System Engineering (in French) 4th to 7th February 2019 at the Observatory of Haute Provence
  • Training sessions planned for 2019, but for which the date will be specified later: 
    • ISOTRACE – Analysis of elements by TRACE and RAdiogenic ISOtopes in Earth Sciences
    • Technological Platform (TeMpeTe)
    • RESOMAR (in French) / TAXO – Network of Marine Observatories and Stations
    • Lithopreparator (in liaison with the INEE and the INSHS)
    • Project management (co-ordinated by the MAPI network, in liaison with the IN2P3)
    • MSK (in liaison with the INEE and the INSHS)
    • Quality (in liaison with the IN2P3 and the "Quality in Research Network" of MITI)
  • Recurrent training sessions that will not be run in 2019:
    • Concurrent engineering 
    • TechMar – the network of Marine Technologies
    • SIST (in French)

Support to teams through technical assistance
The INSU ensures the establishment and monitoring of technical assistance contracts in liaison with the DDAI of the CNRS.
The vocation of these contracts is to allow laboratories to access technical support services in support of teams with the competence to supervise them.
A first contract gives access to product insurance benefits.
Work is currently underway on a broader contract which would provide access to a whole group of benefits necessary for the technical needs of laboratories.

Technical platforms
Technical platforms ensure support to the INSU IR/TGIR or SNOs

Exemple de plateforme technique : le parc de planeurs de la Division Technique est constitué d’une douzaine d’engins
An example of a technical platform: the Technical Division fleet of gliders consists of approximately a dozen machines.

Structures

Pour observer les systèmes naturels dans la durée, les laboratoires de l’INSU conduisent leurs recherches au sein de structures originales : les observatoires des sciences de l’Univers (OSU). L’institut a également créé des services nationaux d'observation et participe en premier chef aux infrastructures de recherche nationales et internationales de son domaine.

Des structures de recherche originales

À l'instar des autres instituts du CNRS, l’INSU partage la tutelle de la plupart de ses unités de recherche avec ses partenaires académiques. L'originalité de son organisation réside dans le regroupement de ses laboratoires en "observatoires des sciences de l’Univers" qui mettent notamment en œuvre les actions et les services nationaux d’observation labellisés par l'institut.

Les laboratoires de l'INSU

Unités mixtes de recherche

La plupart des unités de recherche de l’INSU sont des unités mixtes de recherche (UMR), gérées en cotutelle avec des partenaires académiques ou avec d’autres organismes. Au sein des centres universitaires, elles sont regroupées en observatoires des sciences de l’Univers (OSU) auxquels sont adossées des unités mixtes de service (UMS).   

Fédérations de recherche et structures de service

Quatre fédérations de recherche (FR), cinq unités mixtes de service (UMS) et unités de service et de recherche (USR) complètent cette organisation au plan national avec notamment pour rôle de coordonner la stratégie scientifique de plusieurs UMR et de soutenir des plateformes instrumentales dont le périmètre dépasse le cadre local.

Unités mixtes internationales

Quatre unités mixtes internationales (UMI) assurent le développement de coopérations de long terme avec des universités et des organismes étrangers.

Le rôle fédérateur des observatoires des sciences de l’Univers

Statut et Mission

Structures territoriales originales, les 27 observatoires des sciences de l’Univers ont pour mission principale « d’organiser les moyens nécessaires à l’acquisition d’observations des systèmes astronomiques ou des composantes du système Terre ». Au sein des centres universitaires, ils ont un statut d’école interne ou de grand établissement et constituent des unités mixtes de services (UMS) pilotées en partenariat par le CNRS, l'Université et dans plusieurs cas, d’autres établissements ou organismes de recherche.

Interdisciplinarité et mutualisation des moyens

Au niveau local, les observatoires des sciences de l’Univers mettent en œuvre sur le long terme les actions et les services nationaux d’observation et favorisent les recherches interdisciplinaires. Ils facilitent notamment l’accès aux grandes infrastructures de recherche et aux plateformes expérimentales ou numériques d’intérêt régional ou national.

Liste des observatoires des sciences de l'Univers

Les services nationaux d’observation

Acquérir des données

Les sciences de l’Univers reposent sur l’acquisition de données décrivant la formation, l’évolution et les variations des systèmes astronomiques et des milieux terrestres. Aussi l'INSU développe une stratégie spécifique pour répondre aux enjeux scientifiques et aux défis sociétaux associés.

Le label SNO

L’INSU crée et évalue des services nationaux d’observation (SNO) qui mettent en œuvre sur plusieurs années voire plusieurs dizaines d’années des dispositifs d’observation et d’acquisition de données des milieux naturels et astronomiques. Ces dispositifs ont une vocation de service au bénéfice de toute la communauté et permettent de faire progresser les connaissances sur la formation, l’évolution, la variabilité des systèmes étudiés.

La définition et la reconnaissance du contenu des SNO et de la qualité des observations accumulées sont établies à la suite d’un processus de labellisation, permettant la mise en oeuvre de la stratégie de l’institut et d’utiliser le plus efficacement possible les ressources. 

Les actions nationales pour l’observation

Pour structurer et piloter cette activité d’observation systématique, et la rapprocher des grandes infrastructures de recherche nationales ou internationales, les SNO sont regroupés depuis 2016 en « actions nationales pour l’observation », dans chacun des grands domaines de recherche de l'institut.

En savoir plus sur les services nationaux d’observation

Des outils

Les chercheurs de l'INSU peuvent s'appuyer sur des infrastructures de recherche nationales et internationales et sur des centres de données, autant d'outils de grande envergure devenus indispensables à la conduite de leurs travaux.

Les infrastructures de recherche

Télescopes, interféromètres, synchrotrons, navires océanographiques..., l'INSU pilote, en collaboration avec ses partenaires français ou étrangers, des infrastructures de recherche nationales et internationales. Ses chercheurs ont ainsi accès, dans des environnements de très haut niveau, aux équipements les plus performants pour mener des recherches de grande ampleur.

Listes des infrastructures de recherche

Les centres et pôles de données

Les pôles ou centres de données mettent à disposition des données, des outils ou des services pour réunir ou croiser les données issues de différentes sources de production (SNO, missions spatiales, grandes campagnes de terrain, modélisation numérique).

Liste des centres et pôles de données

Des moyens techniques et humains

La Direction adjointe technique de l'INSU accompagne un certain nombre de défis du développement instrumental pour les programmes scientifiques de l'institut et identifie les compétences stratégiques à maintenir et/ou développer au sein de ses laboratoires.

La communauté technique est une communauté qui a beaucoup de personnalité, avec des gens qui sont prêts à avancer et à travers ce réseau, on voit émerger des questions critiques et très nouvelles qui méritent d'être creusées dans l'avenir.
Pierre Kern, Directeur adjoint technique de l'INSU

Missions de la Direction adjointe technique

Développer des actions de support aux projets, accompagner et coordonner les actions R&D, anticiper les besoins techniques des laboratoires et des équipes projet, notamment lors des phases préliminaires des grands projets, incluant compétences et moyens techniques, assurer, pour l'INSU, un suivi technique des projets et participer aux prospectives. Ces missions se déclinent ainsi :

Suivi métier de l’instrumentation et animation

  • Conduire la prospective sur l'évolution qualitative et quantitative des métiers techniques, notamment les métiers spécifiques aux besoins instrumentaux et d’observation de l’institut, via des formations (ANF) et des réseaux métier dédiés ;
  • Accompagner l’animation métier via l’initiation de réseaux et de formations dédiées ;
  • Contribue à l’organisation  de colloques et écoles thématiques techniques pour les laboratoires INSU ;

Suivi projets 

  • Contribuer au niveau national au suivi des grands projets techniques (comité de pilotage ou de suivi, revues, points clés) ;
  • Assurer pour l'INSU le suivi technique des laboratoires spatiaux ou impliqués dans de grands projets techniques et les interfaces avec le CNES en liaison avec le DS et les DAS concernés, 
  • Développer les activités qualité projet : méthodes, assurance produit, … 
  • Assurer avec l'aide du directeur de la Division Technique  (DT) le suivi et la mise en place des moyens pour les instruments nationaux ;
  • Assurer le lien entre les laboratoires et la DT, conjointement avec son équipe de direction, pour leurs besoins de développement ou de déploiements de moyens d’observation (voir le site de la division technique de l’INSU) ;


Exemple de projet technique : visite de la plateforme technique SPATIAL du LAM lors des intégrations des instruments Euclid NISP, FIREBall et SUBARU PFS.

Suivi des prospectives de l'institut

  • Participer aux prospectives organisées par les commissions spécialisées et les programmes ;
  • Coordonner la R&D à l'INSU et assurer le suivi des ressources qui lui sont affectées ;

Suivi des infrastructures nationales 

  • Assurer le suivi technique des infrastructures nationales ;
  • Accompagner la coordination du soutien aux grandes campagnes de mesures ;
  • Assurer le suivi des appels d'offres instrumentaux en support aux moyens nationaux.

Visitez le site de la Division Technique de l'INSU.

Actions et projets

Des réseaux métier 
Des réseaux métier au service de l’INSU en support au développement instrumental et aux moyens d'observation.

  • MAPI MAnagement de Projet INSU
  • Qualité projet 
  • Réseau des Lithopréparateurs
  • SIST - le réseau technologique des informaticien·nes gestionnaires de données d'observation
  • TechMar - le réseau des Technologies Marines
  • MSK - le réseau de métiers "Milieux Souterrains et Karsts"
  • Docplanets - Le réseau des professionnels Information Scientifique et Technique de l'INSU CNRS
Exemple d'ANF 2018 du réseau SIST : Gestion des données d'observation, les outils informatiques pour la valorisation
Exemple d'ANF 2018 du réseau SIST : Gestion des données d'observation, les outils informatiques pour la valorisation.

Des Actions Nationales de Formation 
Des Actions Nationales de Formation pour permettre aux Ingénieurs et Techniciens et Chercheurs instrumentalistes d’acquérir ou compléter les compétences nécessaires à leurs missions.

Outre les formations proposées par les réseaux métiers du CNRS gérés via la MITI, l’INSU propose des formations spécifiques à ses besoins. Suivant les cas ce sont des formation proposées tous les ans ou tous les 2 ans, ou pour répondre à un besoin plus ponctuel sur une seule année. Ces formations peuvent être proposées conjointement avec d’autres instituts, notamment l’IN2P3, l’INEE. Nos formations en cours sont les suivantes :

  • Formations programmées pour 2019 :
  • Formations prévues en 2019 dont la date sera spécifiée prochainement : 
    • ISOTRACE - Analyse des éléments en TRACE et des ISOtopes RAdiogéniques en Sciences de la Terre
    • Plateforme technologique (TeMpeTe)
    • RESOMAR / TAXO - Réseau des Stations et Observatoires Marins
    • Lithopréparateur (en lien avec l’INEE et l’INSHS)
    • Management de Projets (coordonnée par le réseau MAPI en lien avec l’IN2P3), 
    • MSK (en lien avec l’INEE et l’INSHS)
    • Qualité  (en lien avec l’IN2P3 et le réseau Qualité en Recherche de la MITI)
  • Actions récurrentes non proposées en 2019 :
    • Ingénierie concourante 
    • TechMar - le réseau des Technologies Marines
    • SIST

Un support aux équipes par de l’assistance technique
L’INSU assure la mise en place et le suivi de marchés d’assistance technique en lien avec la DDAI du CNRS.
Ces marchés ont vocation de permettre aux laboratoires d’accéder à des prestation d’assistance techniques en support à des équipes disposant de la compétence pour en assurer la supervision.
Un premier marché permet d’accéder à des prestations d’assurance produit.
Un marché plus large est en cours de mise en place pour accéder à un ensemble de prestations nécessaires aux besoins techniques des laboratoires.

Des plateformes techniques 
Des plateformes techniques assurent le support aux IR/TGIR ou aux SNO de l’INSU

Exemple de plateforme technique : le parc de planeurs de la Division Technique est constitué d’une douzaine d’engins
Exemple de plateforme technique : le parc de planeurs de la Division Technique est constitué d’une douzaine d’engins.